By: Savannah Smith | 01-30-2017 | News
Photo credit: Kenneth Lu / Flickr

The List Of Seven Countries in Trump's Temporary Ban EO Was First Made By Obama

The Democrats, liberals, even former secretary of state Hillary Clinton, and all the staunch critics of President Donald Trump's immigration and refugee policy executive order should take a brief moment to pause from all the noise they are making and let this not so startling but barely discussed information by the mainstream media sink in: the seven predominantly-Muslim countries on the list of temporary immigration and refugee ban were first flagged as "countries of particular concern" by Trump's predecessor, the "politically-correct" Barack Obama.

The revelation came from White House Press Secretary Sean Spicer as he shared that the Obama administration put the list together first and foremost and declared that those countries need to have further travel restrictions based on the intelligence that they have at the time.

Trump's order applies a temporary ban for immigrants, visitors and refugees from known Muslim countries as Iraq, Iran, Libya, Sudan, Yemen, Syria and Somalia who are seeking to enter the U.S. The temporary ban is good for a prescribed period of three to four months.

Spicer defended that the Trump administration is merely taking extra precaution by putting in place an extreme vetting process for people coming in from those countries that " have a history" or intelligence record, hence the temporary ban.

Spicer also underscored that the Trump government is working hard through all available "diplomatic channels necessary" to guarantee that other nations would understand and appreciate better that President Trump only wants to protect Americans from security threats until extreme vetting measures have been implemented.

It is also interesting to point out that last year alone, former President Obama, he who is a laureate of the much-vaunted Nobel Peace Prize, dropped a total of 26, 171 bombs in seven Muslim-majority countries, five of which are included in the current list: Syria, Iraq, Libya, Somalia, and Yemen. The other two countries that were bombed last year are Afghanistan and Pakistan. The collective bombs dropped by the Obama administration on the five countries now on the temporary ban list on Trump's order total 24,831.

The data in the U.S. bombings come from the Council on Foreign Relations, which also reveals that 24,287 of the said bombs were dropped in Iraq and Syria where the U.S. is leading a coalition to fight ISIS.

Share this article
Thoughts on the above story? Comment below!
0 comment/s
What do you think about this article?
Comment *

Recent News

Popular Stories